Tuesday, February 12, 2019

2019 Annual Council Meeting and Luncheon

Girl Scout Ambassador Isabella and Connie Lindsey

More than 300 Girl Scouts, volunteers, and staff attended the Girl Scouts of the Colonial Coast Annual Council Meeting and Luncheon on Saturday, February 2 at the Hampton Roads Convention Center in Hampton.

After an opening flag ceremony, Hampton City Manager Mary Bunting welcomed Girl Scouts to the city. Girl Scout Ambassador and this year’s National Anthem singer Isabella Orosco then took the stage to welcome Connie Lindsey, executive vice president and head of corporate social responsibility and global diversity and inclusion at Northern Trust. As a past National Board President of Girl Scouts of the USA and Girl Scout for over 50 years, Lindsey shared her Girl Scout Leadership Experience with guests, leaving them with words of encouragement to empower them to continue building girls of courage, confidence and character to make the world a better place. 

Carolene Goodwyn-Harris, outgoing Chair of the Board of Directors, and GSCCC CEO Tracy Keller delivered annual reports on the state of the Council. In her last meeting as board chair, Goodwyn-Harris took the time to share some her most memorable moments, which included her being welcomed into the Girl Scout sisterhood by Connie Lindsey, initiating the development of the Property Committee to enhance girls’ outdoor experiences and reminiscing about her visits to our different camp properties.

Carolene Goodwyn-Harris with Gold Award Girl Scout Krysta
A revision in the GSCCC Bylaws was also part of this year’s ACM agenda. Passing by a majority, the changes approved will result in more meaningful involvement by Delegates and an increased level of transparency of the Board of Directors. With the revisions, the role of the Delegate will be empowered within the governance process as they have representation at Board of Directors’ meetings and Board Committee meetings. There will also be increased opportunities for girl involvement.  In addition, the Council will now have a self-perpetuating Board of Directors. Overall, the bylaw changes create opportunities for stronger volunteer and girl voices and participating at the highest level of governance!

Linda Bass, former chair of the Board of Directors, presented the newly elected Board Members who were installed after a vote by Girl Scout Volunteer Delegates: Luis Estrada, Susan Blake and Bonnie Purefoy. Barbara Tierney was installed as the new Chair of the Board of Directors. Carolyn Pittman will serve as Vice-Chair, and newly elected Board Member Luis Estrada will serve as Treasurer. They join the following members on the Board of Directors: Tricia Hudson, Ann Campbell, Amy Coyne, Theresa Dozier, Tracy Ashley, Maria Herbert, Catherine Magill, Maria Mills, Lu Ann Klevecz, Ellis Pretlow, Rachel Szechtman and Carletta Waddler.
Left to right: Bonnie Purefoy, Lu Ann Klevecz, Ann Campbell, Carolyn Pittman, Luis Estrada, Barbara Tierney, Tracy Keller, Sunny Smith
Before the closing of the meeting, Tierney thanked Goodwyn-Harris for her commitment to GSCCC and for making the world a better place for our girls. She also acknowledged the amended bylaws and noted the changes will help the Council make best use of its resources.

Following the meeting, Girl Scouts of the Colonial Coast held their Annual Adult Awards Luncheon, where volunteers were honored with national Girl Scout recognitions. Thirty-nine volunteers and staff members who have been a part of Girl Scouts for more than 20 years were recognized with a pin for their years of service. Carolyn Abron-McCadden, a GSCCC past Board Chair and dedicated Girl Scout volunteer from Chesapeake, was recognized with the Dorothy Barber Lifetime Achievement Award, and Chesapeake Girl Scout Ambassador Lily was recognized with the Buck Harris Award. 17 additional volunteers were thanked with the Appreciation Pin. This year, the Honor Pin recipient was Jennifer Moose from Troop 1038 in Hampton for her support and continuous efforts to give girls the best leadership experience while at Camp Fury. Goodwyn-Harris was honored with the Thanks Badge for her ongoing commitment, leadership and service to the Council. Susan Ramsland from Service Unit 250 was awarded the Thanks Badge II for her exemplary service in her leadership roles with the Council.

The end of the luncheon was a special time of celebration for Girl Scout volunteer Deborah Verhofstadt who recently made the decision to include Girl Scouts in her legacy planning and join the Juliette Gordon Low Society. At the conclusion of the luncheon, she was pinned and formerly welcomed into the JGL Society.

View more photos from the day here.